DIY Towel Rack {{From Pallets}}

“Cheers to the freakin’ weekend…”

Whew, it’s the end of the week! {Sigh. of. relief.} My little fam and I went to a cookout this evening and are going to another tomorrow! {You can never have enough cookout food right?!} It should be an exciting weekend full of lots of things to do but for now I’m soaking up the silence. Lounging in the PJ’s, snuggled up to a crochet blanket, sippin’ some good ol’ hot chocolate {just burnt the taste buds -_-} and watching HGTV while everyone else in the house is snooooozing it up.

Well, I’ve been following along with one of my fav bloggers {Dacia @ Lemondroplife.com} while she is fixing up her guest bathroom and it’s motivated me to give a little life to OUR bathroom as well! I decided to go to Pinterest {best place for a little inspiration no doubt} and I found tons of nifty things you can do with wood pallets. We have 3 of them sitting in our back yard right now that we got for FREE {I love the sound of that word ;-)} so of course I’m dying to use them for projects. Hubs suggested that we create a magazine/towel rack to spice up our bathroom and I was all in! He used the saw and I stained the wood and VOILA …we had the perfect addition to the start of our mini bathroom makeover.

Here’s the tutorial…

1.}} Lay your wood pallet upside down.

2.}} With your saw cut directly next to the center wood beam of the pallet.

{{Excuse the fact that were using a hand saw. *rolls eyes* We forgot our electric one at my in-laws house.}}

3.}} Continue to saw straight down, following the center beam.

4.}} Using the wood that is still left over from the OTHER HALF of the pallet, take the nails off of the front beam.

5.}} Take the beam you just took off the front and nail it to the bottom of your “towel rack”.

6.}} Now to the good part… sand down all of the rough areas.

7.}} Stain the wood.

{{I used the stain color “English Chestnut” for mine.}}

8.}} Add on your knobs/hooks.

{{I purchased mine at Hobby Lobby for 50% off! –Holla-}

9.}} Hang it up, add a few of your magazines aaaaaand…you. are. done!

What do you think?!?!

I the dark wood stain!

Well, onto project #2 for the bathroom… the cabinet makeover!! {Wish me luck! I’ll need it ;-)}

Have a GREAT weekend!

Categories: DIY, Organized Home | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “DIY Towel Rack {{From Pallets}}

  1. foroneplease

    it’s beautiful 🙂

  2. Omg it’s amazing I love it… You and your husband are awesome at this stuff…. Thanks for sharing!

  3. tigersnooze

    This is adorable! 😀

  4. I love it!

  5. Looks great! I definitely like the dark wood stain. Good job.

  6. George Hayward

    Ha this was really cool, and very creative! Well done.

  7. Oh this is really nice! Would love to try this as well. Good job. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Thanks for a great tutorial and a wonderful idea!

  9. Pingback: DIY Cowboy: How to reclaim wood from pallets « Energy's Soul Mission

  10. Pingback: 5 Easy DIYs For A Rustic-Inspired Powder Room! | Interior Design UK

  11. Pingback: 20 DIY Magazine Rack Projects

  12. Pingback: 20 DIY Magazine Rack Projects | Style Motivation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.